States of India

Monday, November 29, 2010

India is the largest democratic country of the world. It is a vast country comprising of 28 states and 7 union territories. These states are symbol of diverse cultural and traditional ethics and values. Despite the various diversification these states and territories stands united representing the theme of brotherhood and nationality. Indian states can be divided in four spheres.

North Indian States:

Jammu and Kashmir: Its capital city is Srinagar.
Himachal Pradesh: Its capital city is Shimla.
Punjab: Its capital city is Chandigarh.
Uttrakhand: Its capital city is Dehradun.
Delhi: Its is the capital city of India and a major political center. It is also a union territory.
Rajasthan: Its capital city is Jaipur also known as Pink City.
Uttar Pradesh: Its capital city is Lucknow.
Haryana: Its capital is also Chandigarh.
Chandigarh: In the recent times it was given the status of a union territory.

South Indian States:
Andhra Pradesh: Its capital city is Hyderabad.
Karnataka:Its capital city is Bangalore.
Kerala: Its capital city is Trivandrum.
Tamil Nadu: Its capital is Chennai.
Puducherry: Its a union territory and its capital city is also Puducherry.
Lakshadweep: Its is also a union territory and its capital is Kavaratti.

West Indian States:
Maharashtra: Its capital is Mumbai which is also the commercial capital of India.
Gujarat: Its capital is Gandhinagar.
Goa: The capital of Goa is the beautiful city of Panjim.
Dadra and Nagar Haveli: It is a union territory and its capital is Silvassa.
Daman and Diu: It is a union territory and its capital city is Daman.

East Indian States:
Bihar: Its capital city is Patna.
Jharkhand: Its capital city is Ranchi.
West Bengal: Its capital city is Kolkata.
Orissa: Its capital is Bhubaneshwar.

North East Indian States
Sikkim: Its capital is Gangtok.
Assam: Its capital city is Dispur.
Arunachal Pradesh: Its capital city is Itanagar.
Manipur: Its capital is Imphal.
Meghalaya: Its capital is Shilong.
Nagaland: Its capital is Kohima.
Tripura: Its capital is Agartala.
Mizoram: Its capital is Aizwal.

Central India States
Madhya Pradesh: Its capital city is Bhopal.
Chhastigarh: Its capital is Raipur.



Indus April 17, 2011 at 5:44 AM  

Goa is beautiful. I was to Goa and have placed a photo on my blog

Post a Comment

Blog Directories

Globe of Blogs blog directory br />

Blog Directory Toplist
OnToplist is optimized by SEO
Add blog to our directory.

Blog Directory

  © Blogger template On The Road by 2009

Back to TOP